S.J. Chang received the 2014 David Strand Diversity Achievement Award at the Founders Day Convocation on February 20.

Known as an involved teacher, researcher and administrator with an undying zeal for promoting diversity and multiculturalism, Chang serves as associate dean for MBA and undergraduate programs at the College of Business.

Chang is the 21st recipient of the award, which was established and endowed by President Emeritus David Strand to honor a faculty or staff member whose efforts result in heightened sensitivity to diversity on campus. He will receive a monetary award and have his name added to the Strand Diversity Achievement Award plaque on the Wall of Fame in the Bone Student Center.

Under Chang’s leadership, the MBA Program is one of the most diverse programs on campus in terms of culture, ethnicity, age, educational background, job experience and student status.  In recent years Chang’s program has been represented by students from as many as 35 different countries.

Since joining Illinois State in 1989, Dr. Chang has served the University in many capacities including the Academic Senate, University Standards Committee, Athletic Council, mentor for Minority Opportunities Program, Special Planning Committee on Ethics, and Faculty Advisor for the Korean Student Association.  He is also the founding president of AsiaConnect, a campus affinity group established to promote Asian cultures and represent the interests, needs and concerns of 150 strong Asian faculty and staff members at Illinois State.

As a Korean-born scholar, Dr. Chang has taught extensively both in the U.S. and Korea and has done research exploring issues from both countries and across the globe.

Past recipients of the Strand Diversity Achievement Award are Alison Bailey, Nancy Tolson, Christopher Horvath, Kim Pereira, Marilyn Boyd, Maria Canabal, Madeleine Hoss, Ming-Gon John Lian, Maura Toro-Morn, Louis Perez, Ron Strickland, Julia Visor, Savario Mungo, Paula Ressler, Ronald Swan, Ricardo Cortez Cruz, Rick Lewis, Beverly Nance, Robert Lee and Touré Reed.