Skip to main content

2014 ISU Athletics Hall of Fame class announced

Hall of Fame Inside Graphic

The 2014 Illinois State Athletics Percy Family Hall of Fame class was officially announced August 14. The following Redbirds will become members of the Redbird Hall of Fame:¬†Char Govan Bond ’90 (women’s basketball), a 1,500-point scorer and 1990 First-Team All-Missouri Valley Conference (MVC)¬†selection; Tarise Bryson ’02 (men’s basketball), No. 7 on the all-time scoring list and the 2001 MVC Player of the Year; Dion Simmons ’94 (men’s track and field), an NCAA All-American in the triple jump and three-time MVC champion; and Amber (Smith) Coppola ’09 (softball), a four-time All-MVC First-Team selection and All-American.

In addition to the 2014 Hall of Fame class, Larry Quane, who has been supporting Illinois State Athletics in various volunteer roles for close to three decades, will be honored with the Campbell “Stretch” Miller Award. The award is named for Campbell Miller, a former Redbird athlete who went on to broadcast Illinois State games in the 1940s before joining the St. Louis Cardinals broadcasting team.¬† The award celebrates the contributions of those whose main services were not playing or coaching, but were important to the program’s success.

The honorees will be officially introduced during the Hall of Fame banquet scheduled for 8 a.m. October 4 in the Brown Ballroom of the Bone Student Center. The class will also be recognized during halftime of the Illinois State-South Dakota State football game later that day. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m.