Skip to main content

Historic season for the ISU football team

Players at national title game

It was a year of many firsts for the 2014–2015 Illinois State football team. The biggest of the firsts was the first FCS National Championship game appearance for the Redbirds, and Illinois State came within 98 seconds of adding its first National Championship title to the list.

The Redbirds captured their first conference title since 1999. The team broke 16 school records, including most points in a season (574), total offense (6,954), rushing touchdowns (41), passing touchdowns (32), and most wins in a season (13).

Illinois State also piled up the individual awards. Head coach Brock Spack was named the Coach of the Year in the Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC). Marshaun Coprich was the Offensive Player of the Year in the Valley. Indiana University transfer Tre Roberson was named the Newcomer of the Year in the MVFC. There were three All-Americans on the roster: Coprich (first team), Chris Highland (first team), Jermaine Barton (third team).

The Redbirds took down seven nationally ranked teams en route to their first 13-win season.

With many of the aforementioned names returning next season, the Redbirds will look to build off of this historic season.