Illinois State University Mennonite College of Nursing (MCN) is pleased to announce Advocate BroMenn Endowed Professor Wendy Woith is the 2017 recipient of the Outstanding College Teacher Award.

This award is given to a tenure or tenure track faculty member who is persistent, focused, purposeful and dedicated to striving for excellence in teaching. This includes: learning about and applying effective instructional practices across a wide range of teaching activities, evaluating the effectiveness of those practices, and reflecting on personal values and professional experiences to shape future teaching practices.

Woith joined Illinois State in 2000 and started as the clinical simulations lab supervisor. She was the recipient of the Nurse Educator Award from the Illinois Board of Higher Education in 2007. In 2008, Woith was named a Virginia S. Cleland RN/American Nurses Foundations Scholar by the American Nurses Foundation, and was also named an Outstanding Alumni in Education from the Saint Frances Medical Center College of Nursing. In 2012, Woith received the Meridean Maas Research Mentor Award at MCN. She received the Outstanding Research and Contribution to the Underserved Population from the Midwest Nursing Research Society and was named a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing in 2014. In 2015, she was appointed as the Advocate BroMenn Endowed Professor and received the Outstanding College Researcher Award.

Woith’s research interests include international nursing and health, tuberculosis, treatment adherence and stigma, health care workers’ knowledge of tuberculosis infection control, facilitators and barriers to evidence-based practice, rapid response and civility.

Woith teaches Research and Theory for Evidence-Based Practice in the undergraduate program, qualitative research design in the doctoral program. She advises students in the Ph.D. and D.N.P. programs. Woith chairs and serves as a member on several dissertation committees for students pursuing their Ph.D. in Nursing Science, and chairs D.N.P. student project committees.