This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Department of Technology hosted the Illinois Design Educators Association/Technology Educators Association of Illinos/Technology and Engineering Education Collegiate Assocation 2019 Joint Conference at the Normal Marriott and Turner Hall on November 8-9, 2019. The joint event included a variety of breakout sessions, industry exhibitors, student competitions, and awards.

The Technology and Engineering Education students Caleb Scott, John Basnick, Jarod Battisto, Jack Hoffman, and Michael Bailey won the Technology and Engineering Education Collegiate Association Communications and Transportation Student Competitions.

Since 1989, the Illinois Drafting Educators Association has requested nominations for their R. Tim Phillips Award for best Illinois drafting educator. This year, Janelle Nordtvedt ’15 STEM MS was awarded the IDEA R. Tim Phillips Award.

Alex Hurst, TEE ’16 was awarded the Technology Education Association of Illinois New Teacher of the Year Award. This award is an acknowledgment of an outstanding “new” (1-5 years experience) teacher who is providing his/her students the most current curriculum available and staying professional. Hurst teaches at Waubonsie Valley High School in Aurora, Illinois. Currently, he teaches Engineering Technology I, Project Lead the Way Principles of Engineering, Project Lead the Way Civil Engineering & Architecture. He is involved with the Illinois Design Educators Association and SkillsUSA organization. He also coaches the Junior Varsity Boys Lacrosse team.

Congratulations to our current students and our former students!