Illinois State University’s Central Illinois Area Health Education Center (AHEC) is providing Health Professions Student Training Awards for residents of the 16-county region in 2020. Up to 10 $500 Awards will be made to residents of Christian, DeWitt, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Marshall, McLean, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Piatt, Sangamon, Tazewell, and Woodford Counties.

Applicants must be a student enrolled in a health profession program and attending college (or an accredited program) in the State of Illinois in fall 2020. A health profession is broadly defined, and includes, for example, medicine, osteopathy, nursing, dentistry, dental hygiene, optometry, pharmacy, chiropractic, allied health, public health, psychology, social work, behavioral/mental health, physical and occupational therapy, and emergency medical services. Applicants should intend to work in a rural or underserved urban area.

All application materials must be received at Illinois State University by April 30, 2020. Visit and click on the Grants and Awards link for eligibility, the application, and submission address. Award recipients will be notified after June 30.

Nine students were selected for the 2019 Health Professions Student Training Awards representing 7 of the 16 counties in the region. Awardees are pursuing nursing, physical therapy, and psychology professions. The students and their institutions include: Libby Fisher and Kylee Summers, Illinois State University; Alexandra Cipriani, Bradley University; Sarah Gutz, Heartland Community College; Jacilyn McGinley and McKenzie Graham, Lincolnland Community College; Heidi Harrison, Methodist College; Gabrielle Crothers, Monmouth College; and a student from Richland Community College.

The Central Illinois AHEC’s goal is to improve health care for rural and underserved populations by promoting healthcare careers to meet workforce needs, increasing access to health professions education, and enhancing collaborative, community-based health initiatives. This work is conducted by the Illinois Area Health Education Centers Network Program and Central Illinois AHEC, Illinois State University, funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration, and administered by the National Center for Rural Health Professions at the University of Illinois at Chicago and College of Medicine-Rockford.