Eight students with majors in the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) have been named 2016-2017 Robert G. Bone Scholars at Illinois State University.

They are William Darrow, chemistry and mathematics; Jackie Durnil, communication sciences and disorders; Alexis Econie, sociology and communication; Nora Fredstrom, health sciences and chemistry; Adrianne Howe, psychology; Lauren Koszyk, music and German; Beau Ott, history and Spanish; and Tejas Patel, molecular and cellular biology.

“We are very proud of these excellent students,” said CAS Dean Gregory Simpson. “The depth and breadth of their accomplishments is stunning. I am also just as proud of the talented faculty in the college who teach and mentor our students, encouraging them to pursue their dreams.”

Professor Rocio Rivadeneyra, Department of Psychology, is currently serving as interim director of the Honors Program, which is responsible for the selection of Bone Scholars. Robert G. Bone Scholarships constitute the highest awards Illinois State University confers on its undergraduate students. These scholarships were established in 1967 to honor former University President Robert Bone, and they recognize broad academic achievement as well as service and leadership, on campus and in the community.

Six additional students who were named Bone Scholars are students in the College of Applied Science and Technology, the College of Business, the College of Education, and the College of Fine Arts.