Six members of the College of Arts and Sciences were presented with 2015-2016 Excellence Awards at the Dean’s Fall Address and Awards Ceremony on September 13.

Professor Maria Schmeeckle, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, won the John A. Dossey Award for Outstanding Teaching by a tenured faculty member. Professor Allison Harris, Department of Physics, won the award for Outstanding Teaching by a pre-tenured faculty member. The Janice Witherspoon Neuleib Award for Outstanding Scholarly Achievement was presented to Professor of Communication Joseph P. Zompetti. Professor Paul Ugor, Department of English, was the winner of the award for Outstanding Scholarly Achievement by a pre-tenured faculty member. Elizabeth L. Chupp, academic advisor in the School of Communication, won the award for Outstanding Administrative Professional; and Sally A. Little, lead staff member in the School of Biological Sciences, was the winner of the Scott M. Elliott Award for Outstanding Civil Service Staff.

“I was very pleased to present College Excellence Awards to these fine colleagues,” said Dean Gregory Simpson. “The contributions each one makes to the college and to the University are substantial and long-lasting, and I congratulate them.”

During his address, Simpson also thanked Professor Kyle Ciani, Department of History, for her service as acting chair of the Department of History last semester.

Eight new tenure-track faculty members in the College of Arts and Sciences were also introduced to the audience: Christopher Weitzel, Department of Chemistry; Benjamin Kirby, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders; Bibek Adhikari, Department of Economics; Wondwosen Seyoum, Department of Geography-Geology; Neet Priya Bajwa, Department of Mathematics; Uttam Manna, Department of Physics; and Julie Campbell and Daniel Lannin, Department of Psychology. Articles about each of these new faculty members will appear in future issues of CASNews.