Skip to main content

University College names Impact Award winners

New freshmen and new transfer students nominated the following Illinois State faculty, staff and students for a 2017 Impact Award. Please join us in congratulating the following individuals for their significant contributions to our students and to first year retention.

image of the Impact Awards logoThis award is designed to show appreciation for the impact individual members of the campus community have on our new students and on student retention.

Freshmen and new transfer students are contacted to nominate an individual at Illinois State who has made a difference in their education and academic success.
The 2017 winners are:                                                 

Academic Advisors:
Tamekia Bailey, Sponsored Project Technical Coordinator, University College
Katelynn Clement, Academic Advisor, Agriculture
Vincent Cunningham, Sponsored Project Program Associate, University College
Sarah Dolan, Academic Advisor, School of Teaching and Learning
Ronald Gifford, Assistant to Department Chair, History
Kirk Hines, Academic Advisor, University College
Lindsay Schwend, Academic Advisor, University College
Daniel Stump, Academic Advisor, University College
Sarah Warzecha*, Academic Advisor, University College

Persephone Allee, Sophomore, Geology
Diana Bender, Freshman, School of Social Work
Connor Carson, Sophomore, Elementary Education
Hannah Coleman, Sophomore, Undeclared
Megan Compton, Freshman, School of Theatre
Logo with the words Diversity at StateAbtavius Cooks, Freshman, History
Shannon Cotter, Sophomore, Special Education (Resident Assistant)
Courtney Dandridge, Sophomore, Arts Technology
Michael DeBreau, Senior, International Business (Resident Assistant)
Christian Eng, Freshman, History
Julia Gramont, Senior, School of Communication
Shacora Hawkins, Junior, School of Communication
Stephanie Hedgespeth, Junior, English
Melissa Hill, Junior, School of Social Work
May Hudspeth, Junior, Recreation and Park Administration
Jaylon Joyner, Senior, Physical Education
Megan Kapala, Junior, Finance
Zachary Krepps, Sophomore, Physics
Alyssa Lively, Freshman, Special Education
Marie Morgenthaler, Senior, School of Communication (Resident Assistant)
Crystal Rodriguez, Junior, Accountancy
Amber Scarbeary, Sophomore, Recreation and Park Administration
Cara Shapkauski, Sophomore, School of Art (Resident Assistant)
Jackson Stephenson, Sophomore, Molecular and Cellular Biology (Resident Assistant)
Zachary Temple, Junior, Physics
The Women of Alpha Gamma Delta

Sally Arnett-Harwick, Assistant Professor, Family and Consumer Sciences
Dawn Beichner, Professor, Criminal Justice Sciences
Christina Borders, Associate Professor, Special Education
Heidi Bowman, Instructional Assistant Professor, English
Kevin Boyer, Instructional Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Tina Brakebill, Instructional Assistant Professor, History
George Byrns, Professor, Health Sciences
Elizabeth Cachey, Graduate Assistant Teaching, English
Sarah Caputo, Graduate Assistant Teaching, Psychology
Kyle Ciani, Associate Professor, History
Lea Cline, Assistant Professor, School of Art
Margaret Creasy, Instructional Assistant Professor, Family and Consumer Sciences
Alan Cing*, Instructional Assistant Professor, Finance
Joan Crooks, Instructional Assistant Professor, English
Anthony Crubaugh, Department Chairperson, History
Rebekka Gougis*, Assistant Professor, School of Biological Sciences
Roger Day*, Instructional Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Laura Dickenson, Instructional Assistant Professor, Special Education
Xing Fang, Assistant Professor, Information Technology
Timothy Fredstrom*, Professor, School of Music
Jon Friesen, Professor, Chemistry
Lee Anne Hale*, Lecturer, School of Communication
Jodi Hallsten Lyczak*, Instructional Assistant Professor, School of Communication
Suejung Han, Assistant Professor, Psychology
Allison Harris, Assistant Professor, Physics
Corinne Harrison-Malone, Lecturer, Agriculture
Matthew Himley, Associate Professor, Geography
Michele Hutchison, Instructional Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Margaret Jones, Instructional Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
Lynn Kennell, Instructional Assistant Professor, Mennonite College of Nursing
Larissa Kennedy, Instructional Assistant Professor, History
Olaya Landa-Vialard, Assistant Professor, Special Education
Carrie Lawton, Instructional Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Terry Lowe, Instructional Assistant Professor, Management and Quantitative Methods
Benjamin Lynn, Graduate Assistant Teaching, School of Communication
Adam Mason, Graduate Assistant Teaching, School of Communication
Margaret Maxstadt, Graduate Assistant Teaching, School of Communication
Thomas McClure, Associate Professor, Legal Studies
Rhonda Nicol, Instructional Assistant Professor, English
Kaley Ozminkowski, Instructional Assistant Professor, School of Theatre and Dance
Steven Peters, Professor, Chemistry
Kim Pereira, Professor, School of Theatre and Dance
Iuliia Protopop, Assistant Professor, Agriculture
Tiffany Puckett, Assistant Professor, Politics and Government
Louis Reifschneider, Professor, Technology
Kimberly Rhykerd, Lecturer, Agriculture
Jay Rich, Professor, Accounting
Lisa Rosenthal, Lecturer, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
David Sanson, Assistant Professor, Philosophy
Deborah Seifert, Department Chairperson, Accounting
Gavin Smith*, Instructional Assistant Professor, School of Music
Benjamin Stiers, Instructional Assistant Professor, School of Music
Derek Story, Director HR Systems, Human Resources
Elisha Swanson, Instructional Assistant Professor, Chemistry
Michiko Thomas, Lecturer, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Laurie Thompson-Merriman, Professor, College of Fine Arts
Maura Toro-Morn, Professor, Latin American and Latina/o Studies
Elizabeth White, Assistant Professor, School of Teaching and Learning
Anna Marie Wright, Lecturer, School of Communication

Stephanie Duquenne, Director, Alumni Relations
Levester “LJ” Johnson, Vice President, Student Affairs
Amanda Papinchock, Coordinator, Violence Prevention, Health Promotion and Wellness
Christa Platt, Coordinator of Academic Services, University College
Jess Ray, University Registrar, University Registrar
Julia Shaffer, Business Administrative Associate, Dean of Students
David Speiser, Coordinator Residence Hall, University Housing

*Received more than one nomination

For more information on the Impact Awards, go to the University College website.

Appears In
Read All