This slideshow requires JavaScript.

More than 100 students, family members, retired faculty, current faculty members and members of the Attorney Advisory Board (AAB) of the College of Arts and Sciences attended the 2019 Annual Award Ceremony of the Department of Politics and Government. This is the first time in the Department’s history that department awards and pre-law awards were celebrated together. Students were recognized in the various subfields of political science and legal studies as well as for their overall achievements. The ceremony also included the induction of 18 new members into Pi Sigma Alpha, the political science honorary society.

The Ceremony was held in the Circus Room at the Bone Student Center on April 26, 2019. Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Diane Zosky and AAB Chairperson Peter Orlowicz made remarks at the Ceremony congratulating students for their excellent achievements. A total of 29 students received awards in 24 categories. Members of the Department’s award-winning teams, the Mock Trial team, and the Model United Nations team were also recognized.

Professor Noha Shawki was awarded the Pi Sigma Alpha Excellence in Teaching Award, as well as the Hibbert R. Roberts Teaching Excellence Recognition Award. Distinguished Professor Ali Riaz was recognized as the inaugural winner of the Thomas Eimermann Professorship.

The program was jointly sponsored by the Department, Pi Sigma Alpha, and the AAB.

Please visit the Politics and Government Facebook page for more photos.