Illinois State University announced students selected as Robert G. Bone Scholars for the 2022-2023 school year.  

The Bone Scholarship, the highest university-wide honor given to undergraduate students, includes a monetary award from the Bone Scholarship endowment. Recipients of the award will be featured in a display at the Bone Student Center. The 14 new Scholars will be introduced during an October 2 luncheon.   

The scholarship is named in honor of the late Robert G. Bone, president of Illinois State University from 1956-1967. Bone Scholars are selected through a rigorous campus-wide competition based on scholarly achievements as well as engagement and leadership in activities in the University community and beyond. Invited finalists submit a comprehensive portfolio, including several essays and statements, an academic product, and letters of recommendation. The mean grade point average of this year’s Bone Scholars is 3.96 on a 4.0 scale. 

Honorees include: 

Enrique Aguirre, a managerial economics and finance major from Libertyville, Illinois 

Ignacio Gamboa, a Spanish teacher education major from Lisle, Illinois  

Mayra Hernandez, a biological sciences teacher education major from Aurora, Illinois  

Rachel Hodson, an accounting and information systems major from St. Charles, Illinois, formerly of Burlington, Illinois

Matthew Huisman, a geology major from Chatsworth, Illinois  

Alyssa Irby, a nursing major from Elmhurst, Illinois  

Haley Lemp, a health promotion and education major from St. Charles, Illinois 

Terrence Mayfield, an acting and theatre teacher education major from Richton Park, Illinois

Ethan Oliver, a molecular and cellular biology major from Bloomington, Illinois  

Sophie Quackenbush, a politics and government major from Champaign, Illinois  

Gina Russell, a music teacher education major from Minooka, Illinois 

Tyrah Sexton, an accounting major from Odell, Illinois 

Caroline Slowik, a history and social sciences teacher education major from Arlington Heights, Illinois 

Britta Warren, a communication sciences and disorders major from Normal, Illinois